Daily Archives: November 27, 2009

Markdown madness

I never, absolutely never, participate in Black Friday. Which is why it was as much of a shock to my husband as it was to myself when I announced my intent to attend the midnight sale at Toys R Us. He thought I was nuts; I figured there would be a small crowd at best. Ha. Traffic at 11:47pm was light, a good sign. Pulling into the locale, I noticed swarms of cars, most arriving with me, either searching for parking or moving toward other retailers with “Open” signs flickering on at midnight. The throng of about 400 people clustered along the side, all of them swathed in pajamas and blanket-wrapped coats, should have been a deterrent. It wasn’t. The small group of 6 or 7 huddled in the only open parking spot was what got to me. I’d pulled up, and was rudely told by the arrogant jerk ringleader he wasn’t moving. And when I’d rolled my window down to politely ask why, he decided his cigarette was the only thing worthy of his conversation. It wasn’t the spot that made me head for home at 11:52, it was the 6 or 7 counts of attempted vehicular homicide that flashed in my brain. Can’t spend my coveted Christmas bucks posting bail. I took this as a sign from God to do what I should’ve, listen to my husband, and bring my behind back home. Saving 35 bucks wasn’t worth the trouble.

Tagged